Mayor’s Community Award Winners

A full list of the winners of the Mayor’s Community Awards, presented on Sunday 22 January, together with thanks for the many organisations and individuals that made the event a success. £200 was raised for the Mayor’s charities.

Award Winners
The Mayor’s Award The Oultram Family
The Chair’s Special Award Frodsham Food Bank
The Community Committee Award Frodsham Junior Football Club
The Environment Committee Award Frodsham Transition
Head Teacher of the Year Mrs L Kirby, Frodsham C of E Primary School
Teacher of the Year Mr Edd Naylor, Frodsham Weaver Vale Primary School
Teaching Assistant of the Year Miss D Hopley, Frodsham Manor House Primary School
Long Service in Education Mrs C Wood, Frodsham Weaver Vale Primary School (retired)
Dedication in Education Mrs Sutton, Frodsham Weaver Vale Primary School
Governor of the Year Dr G Sharpe, Frodsham C of E Primary School
Pub of the Year Kash 22
Eatery of the Year Ring O’Bells
Best Independent Traders HE Coward Butchers
Community Shop of the Year Hales
Friendliest Staff in a Business TravelLab
Best Building The Station House
Good Neighbour Award Helsby Parish Council
Citizen of the Year Mr John Miller
Young Person of the Year Master Ryan Hall
Frodsham Town Council Employee of the Year Mr Paul Morris
Frodsham Town Council Councillor of the Year Cllr Judith Critchley
Charity of the Year Will to Work
Disabled-Friendly Venue The Parish Hall
Carer of the Year Denise Derby
Lifetime Achievement Award Mr Mike Pusey
Unsung Hero at Work PCSO Neil Flanagan
Unsung Hero in the Community Mr Roy Williamson
Best Choir Frodsham Sings

Mayor’s Personal Awards

  • The two Junior Mayors’ families
  • Deputy Mayor’s Consort, Mrs Lorraine Oulton
  • For dedication in public life:
    Cllrs Andrew Dawson and Lynn Riley
  • Mayor’s Faith Award:
    Rev Andrew Emison, Frodsham Methodist Church

The event raised £200 for the Mayor’s charities: St Laurence Church Restoration Fund and Frodsham Community Centre, and the Mayor thanks Frodsham Town Council and local businesses and individuals for their support.


  • The buffet was prepared by local caterer Julie and paid for by the Mayor’s family
  • Certificates by The Complete Invitation Company, Collinson Court
  • Ceramics by The Craft Box
  • Clocks by Billy Marr, Will to Work

Award sponsors

The Mayor sponsored all the awards except:

  • Chair’s Award
  • Community Committee Award
  • Environment Committee Award; and
  • Teacher of the Year – sponsored by Rabbitdigital Design
  • Young Person of the Year – sponsored by Helsby Parish Council and The Sweet Shop, Church Street

Cheques of £100 were given to Will to Work and Frodsham Junior Football Club. Frodsham Food Bank received £100 worth of Morrisons vouchers.

Fundraising prizes

Football card prize donated by KASH22

Raffle prizes donated by:

  • Cllr Judith Critchley
  • Frodsham Town Council
  • Bags by Blacks


The Parish Hall gave the venue free of charge. Big Bees Breakfast Club was in charge of set up at no cost and the Junior Mayors’ families supervised and did clearing away.

Award clocks and certificates
Table full of awards