Proposed new boundaries for Weaver Vale

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) today published proposals for new Parliamentary constituency boundaries.

Following a decision by Parliament to reduce the number of constituencies in the UK to 600 from 650, and to ensure that the number of electors in each constituency is equal, the BCE has been asked to make independent recommendations about where the boundaries of English constituencies should be.

The BCE has already consulted the public twice and today (17 October) is the start of its third and final consultation.

The number of MPs for Greater Manchester, the Wirral, and Cheshire is to be reduced from 42 to 39. Under these proposals, Frodsham will remain within a revised the Weaver Vale constituency.

The changes between the current constituency and the latest proposals can be summarised as:

Davenham & Moulton
Winsford Over & Verdin
Witton & Rudheath
Halton Lea


The BCE is consulting on its revised proposals for an eight-week period, from 17 October 2017 to 11 December 2017. It is encouraging everyone to use
this final opportunity to contribute to the design of the new constituencies – final recommendations will be made to the Government in September 2018.

Everyone wishing to contribute to the design of the new constituencies should first look at the revised proposals report, and accompanying maps, before responding. The best way to respond to BCE’s revised proposals is through its consultation website: