Christmas household waste collection

Cheshire West and Chester Council has provided information about the revised arrangements for household waste collection over the Christmas period. Saturday collections will take place on three Saturdays to allow the service to return to scheduled collections by Monday 8 January 2018.

Normal Collection Date Revised Collection Date
Monday 25 December 2017 Saturday 23 December 2017
Tuesday 26 December 2017 Wednesday 27 December 2017
Wednesday 27 December 2017 Thursday 28 December 2017
Thursday 28 December 2017 Friday 29 December 2017
Friday 29 December 2017 Saturday 30 December 2017
Monday 1 January 2018 Tuesday 2 January 2018
Tuesday 2 January 2018 Wednesday 3 January 2018
Wednesday 3 January 2018 Thursday 4 January 2018
Thursday 4 January 2018 Friday 5 January 2018
Friday 5 January 2018 Saturday 6 January 2018

If the weather is bad, householders should:

  • continue to place wheeled bins/boxes/bags out for collection on the scheduled day
  • leave any uncollected containers out, and every effort will then be made to return and collect these at the earliest opportunity
  • check for regular updates provided on social media and Cheshire West & Chester Council’s website.

Garden waste collections

Garden waste collections will be suspended for two weeks, from Monday 1 January 2018 and will resume on Monday 15 January 2018. The resources for the garden waste collections will be utilised to assist both recycling and domestic collections over this time.

Following this period any real Christmas trees can be chopped up to a size which allows the lid to close, and placed into green wheeled bins for collection from Monday 15 January 2018.

Recycle first

Remember Christmas cards, envelopes and non-metallic wrapping paper can all be recycled in the green box. Cardboard boxes should be flattened to fit inside the green box with any
plastic and polystyrene removed. Any extra recycling (including food waste) can be placed out for collection next to existing recycling containers in suitable, clearly labelled containers such as a carrier bag or a plastic storage box (this container will be returned after emptying).

Larger boxes can either be ripped up in to smaller pieces and placed into the green recycling box or taken to a local Household Waste and Recycling Centre.

Frodsham Recycling Centre

For opening hours over the holiday, see here.